2009 Single Reed Summit “Wrap Up”


Dr. David Stambler and Dr. Anthony Costa co-hosted the Penn State Single Reed Summit on October 30 and 31, 2009 at the Penn State School of Music.  Guest Artists included the Prestige Clarinet Quartet, Capitol Quartet, and the Penn State Symphonic Wind Ensemble, Dennis Glocke conducting.  The event included two days of performances, master classes, lectures, chamber music, High School and College performance competitions, vendors and three world premieres.  There were 120+ performers including 43 professional and student performers and composers from 9 states; 33 Penn State saxophone and clarinet students, 42 other Penn State Music Students and 8 Penn State faculty performers.

An exciting feature of the summit bringing in talented students from Michigan, Ohio, New York and Pennsylvania was a student competition including high school, undergraduate and graduate division winners.  2009 High School Division Winners included first place winner-saxophonist Jordon Lulloff (Okemos High School, Michigan); second place winner-clarinetist Eddie Sundra (Penncrest High School, Pennsylvania) and honorable mention winner-clarinetist Emile Greer (State High, Pennsylvania).   Undergraduate College Division Winners included first place winner- saxophonist Rachel Perry (Ithaca College); second place winner-saxophonist Matt Heim (Penn State University) and honorable mention winner-clarinetist Ryan Stahl (Penn State University). Graduate College Division Winners included first place winner-saxophonist Michael Torres (The Ohio State University); second place winner-clarinetist Melanie Heggs (Penn State University) and honorable mention winner-saxophonist Justin Canzano (Ithaca College).  Stambler and Costa would like to offer a special thanks to competition judges Smith Toulson, Linda Thornton, Anjan Shah and Janice L. Minor.

The Single Reed Summit closing concert featured Penn State’s Symphonic Wind Ensemble under the direction of Dennis Glocke.  The program included John Adams’ “Short Ride in a Fast Machine,” the Ingolf Dahl “Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Orchestra” with professor David Stambler as soloist, Scott McAllister’s “X-Concerto for Clarinet” with professor Anthony Costa as soloist, Charles Ives’ “The Circus Band,” Igor Stravinsky’s “Circus Polka” and Julius Fucik “Entrance of the Gladiators.”